No hurry. It doesn’t have to be difficult.

If we write a mere 500 words a day (which was my quota when I started) for 200 days, we will have a 100,000 word manuscript. Now, 500 words is nothing (two pages!). We can do that. There is no reason to rush the quality. And don’t forget to read each day also. A couple of hours of reading and a couple hours of writing (or more; your choice) … it doesn’t have to be difficult. Self-discipline is the key.

13 responses to “No hurry. It doesn’t have to be difficult.

  1. This is also usually my goal as it always seems achievable and it gives a very good idea as to when the first draft may be completed. I have just written… however a little more than expected in a few hours over two days – two chapters. My Bertie Gray has relented since I’ve allowed him to be as dark as he wants. Will see what I can do today. Have a 1920s party to organise… it sounds like I my be spending some time on research πŸ™‚

    Like

    • On those good days, characters have a tendency to take us beyond our normal word count. Ah, research, the difference between a good novel, and a stellar one. Personally I love that aspect of writing. We get to travel time and the world, learning. Have fun in the ’20’s, Vic. πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Thank you, Erik. I know what you mean about research making the difference. There is one paragraph early in my novel where the main character tracks down the hotel that has her luggage. I gave someone to read the chapter. Beforehand we were arguing about the need to actually know how much the room cost and what it looked like beforehand. “What does it matter?” they asked. My argument was that although as a reader they won’t notice (necessarily) the detail, knowing them made it possible to bring the scene to life.
        Got my 1920s volume at the ready. Want to make sure I get the details right πŸ™‚

        Like

        • I believe this is one area where the author benefits the most, because when we immerse ourselves in those details, the story begins to breathe alive. You see, whether those details end up on the page or not, they swim in the author’s mind, thereby infusing the writer with every aspect of that time (physical details, mannerisms, dialects, etc.). Research makes the book real in so many ways. The reader does not even realize they are being taken back in time. Research is the magic key that opens the doorway, makes our prose seem simple, with an underlying essence of the time. Therein lies our professional voice.

          Like

Whatcha think?

