Style shall not suffer, when the bold writer endures

Once I tried to hold back the sensual details, for fear of prudish opinions and genre restrictions. Then I found my style suffering because of those restraining concerns. No longer will I close the door; no longer will I keep vivid truth hidden. For the very essence of my style lives in condensed, lean, realistic detail. The reader deserves to feel the heartbeat, the lushness of story as though they are living it; to taste the life on their tongue; to see through the eyes of characters. What will the book reviews turn out to be? That doesn’t matter, you see. For in my mind, one story speaks to me. I do not need to sell my heart to satisfy the ego. Details live. I am not afraid. Are you?

29 responses to “Style shall not suffer, when the bold writer endures

    • No fear, let the heart fly … is what I always say. If a secret is unleashed, it’s because the heart couldn’t contain it any longer. Flow with it. But that’s just my opinion, of course πŸ˜‰

      Like

      • …’tis a sad thing that ~ I think you are very brave and honest to write YOUR way – the way that feels natural and real to you…it is a rarity…and though it is a something that is hard for me to read…your words are beautiful and tasteful, and create just the right balance. DO not listen to the prudes. ( I know I seem like one – I am not πŸ˜‰ my reasons are purely emotionally/psychologically related πŸ˜‰

        Have a brilliant year writing your thoughts and ideas. Inspiration is precious – breathe it in even more deeply in 2014.

        Cheers ~

        Like

      • the Rose is the most expensive oil and it contains a sensuality that compares to no other…a book(s) of yours would have to flow within the depths of sensuality I would think….how could one censor a Rose and all Her energy….
        )0(

        Like

        • without knowing a definite why
          I wandered over to see if you are doing okay….
          I know you are busy with writing, but this
          felt like something was missing….a hollow energy
          and no not sure what that means..just felt like it an thats
          the word that I heard…
          Wishing you a day of peace-filled moments to fulfill your dreams….
          Take Care…You Matter…
          )0(
          BlessedBe
          maryrose

          Like

          • That is very perceptive of you, Mary. Yes, you did feel something. That is more proof of your connection. You see, it seems that the stress of the move caused be to be beaten down by the flu for a few days. Such is life. However, I am back now, and my mission moves forward. Have a great weekend, Mary Rose. Blessed Be. )o(

            Like

          • not sure about a connection…just a feeling of ..well
            never mind, LOLs
            you have a good one too!
            )0(

            Like

  1. I prefer the books that share everything. No one blacks out during sex and picks back up at “When it was finished”
    Kudos for leaving in the good stuff πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Yeey for you Erik! Let no one tell what you can or cannot write! πŸ™‚
    Everyone has his or hers own style, that’s what makes reading so much fun!
    And maybe it’s my Dutch background, but I have never learned to watch what I say or write. Lol.
    As long as it’s not hurting anyone, of course. πŸ™‚
    Hugz! And have a magical and blessed
    2014!

    Like

  3. Missing your smile and words, of course. Hoping the quiet means that your new home is providing plenty of inspiration for your novels. Take care, your little D (or should that be little d?)

    Like

Whatcha think?

