Welcome to Oregon initiation

My neighbors decided to welcome me to Oregon yesterday. His wife knocked on my door, stood there holding a plate of round desserts while she said, “I made these ‘special’ desserts for you. They have maple butter in them.” I thanked her, of course. She smiled–or smirked–and went back to her home. Later, I found out what “special” meant. Now, I’m a pretty free spirit, and I’ve lived through those teenage years of indulgence and stupid fun. It all came rushing back last night. That wasn’t your average maple butter. I traveled the universe last night, all the pretty colors. Β It seems that my neighbors played a little Oregon initiation trick on me, all in good fun. Β Did I mind. Nope. I won’t make it a habit, of course, but I needed to have fun like that. It’s been decades since I let myself go. Yep. Welcome to Oregon, Mr. Lehman. Did you see the Fae in the forest last night? Hmm, you know what, I think I did πŸ™‚

31 responses to “Welcome to Oregon initiation

  1. The last time something like that happened to me I was staying at a friends cottage (actually where my Summer Heat/Cooling down story was set) they were out of town and I thought to myself that amazing chocolate afghan isn’t going to last. Like Alice, unsuspecting, I ate it. Oh my that was a night. I can’t believe she didn’t warn you! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Yep, I gotta good laugh also. And that’s what I’ve heard about Washington. I don’t see any problem with it at all, not that I go after the stuff, but I believe alcohol causes more strife than that ever will. If the country would just get together and follow Washington’s example, maybe it could be taxed and help the economy. But that’s just my opinion.

      Like

      • Washington doesn’t have it together on this–they won’t let anyone grow it so it can be taxed until the federal gov. says it’s legal. I don’t know how anything ever gets done! I say, keep it simple… but that’s too easy for them. Anyway, it was a cute post, Erik πŸ™‚

        Like

Whatcha think?

