Sometimes it’s right before your eyes (a personal announcement)

Most of you know that I lived in California for a time. While living down there I became friends with someone. We would have lunch, completely in friendship, and discuss writing, along with our mutual faith in Asatru. For twelve years we did this. I would go on my adventures every now and then, and when I returned she would call and ask about the adventure…. Then, last December, I moved up here to the woods of Oregon. That friend in California had always followed my blog, and she would contribute now and again here also. She didn’t seem disappointed when she found out that I was moving to “my home in the woods,” as I told her. She figured it was just another adventure … but I told her differently, told her I needed to go home, away from the city for good. She seemed to accept this with a smile. So what I’m about to tell you came as quite a surprise. See, the other day, while rain poured down outside, I got a knock on my door. I opened it … and there she stood, holding a suitcase, rain dripping off her hair and face, a bashful look in her eyes and cheeks, and all she said in a little voice was a simple “Hi.” My heart surged, for it was then that I truly saw her for the first time as something other than a close friend, a friend to laugh and have lunch with, to discuss writing and Asatru with. Evidently, after I left California, she did some soul-searching (and blog-friend tampering, I suspect), then realized what we were missing out on. She transferred her job from Los Angeles to Portland, without my knowing, obtained an apartment and took care of other life details. She had followed me, Β stood in the doorway … and smiled in the rain. So I now introduce you to Lora, my Shield Maiden that always was. Sometimes, even after twelve years, what you’re looking for is right before your eyes….

c2ada6da97ca73425639253b9a265a37

If you’d like to check out her blog go here (Warning, her blog can be a bit risque) Β http://lorafashionbeauty.wordpress.com/

61 responses to “Sometimes it’s right before your eyes (a personal announcement)

      • Lora — you are most welcome. And please know that I am sincere in my wishes for happiness for you both. I hope you don’t mind me calling Erik “LoveE, though. πŸ™‚ His philosophy of life is all about Love and the best term of endearment for him that embodies what he believes and gives to others — hope for love found. And thank you for giving him what he most deserves!!
        Oh — and thank you for the praise!! πŸ™‚

        Like

        • That’s perfectly fine, and very appropriate if you ask me, given his view on life. I’m so happy that you agree, and I have to admit that I got a little teary when you thanked me for giving him what you said, because it took me so long to figure it out. I guess it’s the blond duh in me πŸ™‚ And you are so welcome for the praise, sweetie, you deserve all of it, plus more. All is lovely.

          Lora

          Like

          • I doubt you were having a blonde moment … I think sometimes we don’t know what we’re missing until it’s gone. That happens to ALL of us! You were just brave enough to do something about it. And for that, you deserve my complete admiration and respect. I would trade all of my writing ability for that courage.

            Like

          • I think your outstanding courage shows in your writing, how you express yourself so well and honest. Not many have that ability. And I do thank you for saying that. Believe me, that courage of mine you said, it was very difficult to finally find in that circumstance. I’m not normally that courageous. I finally just said life is too short, I’ve got to do this.

            Like

          • But I’m sure you now know when summon the courage to follow your dreams, you reap the rewards!!!

            Your story has truly made me smile and given me hope.
            Thank you!!!

            Like

          • Well, I guess I know that now πŸ™‚ I’m glad my fear is over now, and glad that it might have helped you. You have the strength, I know this because I wasn’t sure that I had it, and I found out differently. Keep smiling, no matter what. All is lovely.

            Like

  1. YAY!!! This has me beaming and grinning from ear to ear. πŸ˜€

    Hugs and Best Wishes to you both.

    and Lora, now I can follow your blog without being kick backed to Erik’s. πŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. Oh…what a lovely, romantic story! You could not have written it any better yourselves, eh?! Wishing you so much Happiness and Magic…and May the Goddess Bless you with a long and fruitful union.

    Now Erik…did I not mention I thought you had a mate? Given that I have the Sight…I must have seen this coming. πŸ™‚ Now I See wonder and delight ahead for you both. Blessings to you!

    Like

    • You know, I thought the same thing. I had to pinch myself to make sure it was truly happening. And yes, you did mention that. Ah, the gifts you have are abundant, they make me smile for you. Thank you so much for the Goddess Blessings, you know how much they mean to me, and I appreciate that so much. Yes, I do believe we’re in store for many wonders. May Freyja hold you and Bless you all of your days. Love.

      Like

Whatcha think?

