Never feel sorry for …

We all go through times of doubt; of self loathing. As a writer, I know this realm well, yet I have learned to recognize the signs as natural and work through them. I am reminded of a quote by D.H. Lawrence:

“I never saw a wild thing feel sorry for itself.
A bird will drop frozen dead from a bough without ever having felt sorry for itself.”

canary

So no matter the circumstances, life goes on, with or without doubt and self-loathing. All we must do is recognize this human trait for what it is. In recognition is where our power to exist in peace lives. It’s born of understanding. Negativity doesn’t like to be seen; it hides in the shadows of mind, waiting to test our resolve. Yet, when we recognize the negative traits, Β they lose their stranglehold on us. So we must keep our awareness inward, because to live is to know oneself.

21 responses to “Never feel sorry for …

  1. Good quote and advice. Seems artistic types are very prone to negativity and self-loathing. I don’t know a single artist who hasn’t hit that point at some point.

    Off topic, but what is that crow image on your sidebar from? It mesmerizes me every time I visit your blog.

    Like

    • Thank you, Charles. And yes, that seems to be the case. In all honesty I can say that writing and reading saved my life.

      I’m not sure what that crow is from; it’s an image I’ve had for quite some time. I’m glad you like it as much as I do. It fits the music well, and does mesmerize me also.

      Like

    • Nice to have you here. And don’t worry about the campsite, I like to keep it casual, with the fire burning. Nice to meet you, Russel. Come back anytime, grab a drink from the cooler, and take a stump by the fire πŸ™‚

      Like

    • I agree. I’m an animal lover myself. But I do not believe that they ponder and become obsessed with death as we “intelligent” humans do. They respect their passed, as we should. Though there is a difference between instinct and self-pity. Just my two-cents on the subject πŸ™‚

      Like

Whatcha think?

