A writing technique that works to take the weight off

For all those writers out there that struggle with certain organizational issues while writing aΒ novel, I thought I would share a technique that takes a weight off your mind. It really works well for me. Have a great weekend, my friends. Get some reading done, and smile. Click the pic to see my method of madness.

mytechnique

 

19 responses to “A writing technique that works to take the weight off

  1. Great tip. Thank you. I start with an outline of an idea and then I keep adding to the outline, and I do this in certain parts. I can end up with an outline that is 30-40 pages. It also allows me the chance to get an idea about breaks in the chapters too. I am enjoying your blog.

    Like

    • I’m glad you like this. I too have used a similar strategy. Now, though, I take that outline and break it into parts per chapter. Then the story tells me new things as I go. It’s a constant journey of discovery. I’m enjoying your blog also, you have quite a talent, I can see it in the “She knew he lied” story so far. It’s great. I’m always looking forward to reading more.

      Like

      • That story is just written in 20 minute bursts. Almost no revisions and I am just writing with out any plot or direction details. I have had a few followers ask me to throw in a certain element and I do. If you have been reading my blog, then you know I killed Jason, but he is about to come back and I will have a whole lot of fun with him writing from the grave. He will have a drink with Hemmingway, a conversation with Jack London, be hosted by Mark Twain and sample some of Dante’s food. I just hope people find it entertaining.

        Like

        • That’s a fun way to write, I do it often. I call that shotgun prose. … And wow, yeah, that does sound entertaining. And I’m partial to Hemmingway πŸ™‚ Gotta read that πŸ™‚

          Like

          • I had not heard shotgun prose, I read where someone called it “flash writing” either way its a lot of fun.

            Like

    • Yeah, I find that to be the case, at least for me. We all have our own little organizational tricks. When I figured out this one, everything changed; first drafts weren’t so daunting anymore. Of course there is much more to this method, like journaling the big picture, but this does work like a shorthand snapshot of the journal, so I don’t have to rip myself out of focus to flip through pages of notes. I’m glad you like this, Vic. Thanks. πŸ™‚

      Like

          • I do not mind at all, Erik (I was certain we had established that already πŸ™‚ ). As to the list, yes: it is very helpful. Although I was already keeping track of the first four points on your list, the last two are a great addition. I’m especially pleased that you mentioned the red herring (may have to add a couple just to keep the reader on their toes).

            Like

          • I just never asked, how rude of me πŸ™‚ Ah, yes, the little red herring. Gotta keep them guessing, and surprise them at the opportune moments. I’m glad you agree.

            Like

Whatcha think?

