Ostar

A celebration of fertility (rabbits); the rebirth of life (eggs), which are dyed with pastel colors of blooming flowers. Children would toss a raw egg high into the air (to the goddess), and if the egg is caught without breaking, prosperity will shine for the year (just one of the rituals). This is a day of celebration that dates back at least 3000 years, all the way back to my ancestral family. Happy Ostar (“Eástre”),  may Love and new life bless you.

images (3)

Illustration of Ēostre by Jacques Reich, originally with the caption "Eástre." The goddess flies through the heavens surrounded by Roman-inspired putti, beams of light, and animals. Germanic people look up at the goddess from the realm below.

Illustration of Ēostre by Jacques Reich, originally with the caption “Eástre.” The goddess flies through the heavens surrounded by putti, beams of light, and animals. Germanic people look up at the goddess from the realm below.

 

10 responses to “Ostar

  1. Í have to ask you a question. I am having a bit of a dilemma with someone that may or may not have a valid site and it`s been filling up my reader. I`m told the same person has appeared on your site. Do you know how to access him? I did a post specifically about him, my latest one. I cannot find a way to unfollow him. Nor do I know how he suddenly appeared in my reader, and frankly, has dominated it. If you could look at his name and see if you recognize it. I’d really appreciate it!!!

    Like

    • Ah, yep, I found him. It’s a marketing site. I don’t know how to unfollow him, ’cause I didn’t follow him. I’m not sure how he showed up on your reader. I guess you could go into the settings and followers and delete or block him. I’d have to research that.

      Like

Whatcha think?

