Only practice is to blame

Hold your head high. Never be ashamed of your work, no matter how shoddy. Everything you did before, was merely practice for what you are doing now. And what you are doing now, is merely practice for what you will be doing in the future. A writer’s brain has no room for shame; only practice is to blame.
process

“If I waited for perfection, I would never write a word.”

–Margaret Atwood

13 responses to “Only practice is to blame

  1. Something I truly needed to “hear” right now. Thank you, LoveE!!! By the way, I’ve given out all the cards you sent me and now have friends writing down your website info! πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • You’re very welcome, SweetD. I needed to hear it as well, so I wrote it πŸ™‚ And thanks so much for your support. I do appreciate it. A writer’s world is a lonely one at times. It’s nice to know that we have friends. Love. πŸ™‚

      Like

    • πŸ™‚ I know how you feel, believe me. It doesn’t feel like practice when we’re doing it, and that’s a good thing. Only when we realize that we have improved, do we see everything else as merely practice. If that makes any sense at all. I need coffee.

      ~ Erik

      Like

        • I don’t remember him ever writing a book. Perfection in paint is a different story, and more subjective. Writing can always be improved. Until our writing is considered to be a masterpiece, we are merely practicing. I meant no offense, I was only attempting to encourage the struggling writer.

          Like

        • Ah, that’s absolutely perfect, and so close it’s kinda spooky. I’m gonna have to show Lora, and possibly use the image for something on the blog. And that article is perfect also, it really hits home, as it will with Lora I’m sure. Thanks for this. .

          Like

Whatcha think?

