Stand up and write (The source of the quoted article is credited below)

First I’d like to say that after building one of these desks, and using it for the last month or so, I will never write any other way. My writing is taking a turn now. I have decided not to share the results of my work until it is time to send to my agent. I have much more confidence in my writing, and the article below explains why. There is something about standing that works for me. I have my desk, my typewriter, and a stack of paper. That’s all I need. Now I noticed that all of my previous work pales in comparison to my present work, energy has been infused. If you’d like to know the key that opened the door for me, read the article. Who knows, it might work for you also. It’s worth a shot, right?

What do Thomas Jefferson, Ernest Hemingway, Charles Dickens, Donald Rumsfeld, Otto von Bismark and Winston Churchill all have in common?  Aside from being well-known figures in Western society, they all utilized standing desks in their offices.  While, no one would suggest that using a standing desk will make you a successful writer or politician, dropping a big name like Thomas Jefferson or Ernest Hemingway might help when you request a standing desk from your boss, or when your spouse gives you a funny look when you drag your office chair out to the curb. These stand-up workers were not aware of all the health benefits of standing in the workplace that have come to light in recent years, but they certainly had reasons for preferring to stand. Perhaps it was because standing gave them more energy, reduced their back pain or simply empowered them with an increased freedom to move about the workspace.  Whatever their reasons, standing desks worked for these highly successful people, so why not give it a try yourself.

Personally, it gets my inspirational juices flowing when I am able to move around, shifting weight and such (or doing a little jig; kidding, maybe) as the character might do, but that’s just me.

Churchill once said “To improve is to change; to be perfect is to change often.”

download

Source of the article: http://www.diystandingdeskkit.com/good-ol-days

4 responses to “Stand up and write (The source of the quoted article is credited below)

  1. This is great! I place my laptop in areas I can stand. I’ve wanted the treadmill desk for some time. Folks are sitting on fitness balls at work to strengthen core sort of nifty.

    Like

    • Yep, I’ve tried many different things, and I have found that standing works best for me. Give it a try. It might take a bit of time to get used to it, but when you do you’ll never go back to sitting. You’ll have more energy and the inspiration will open up. I think. 🙂

      Like

Whatcha think?

